The George Enescu Festival – An incredible experience

On Friday my friend, who’s a music teacher, invited me out to a concert at the George Enescu festival. The festival is dedicated to Romania’s most famous composer, George Enescu, and it brings orchestras, musicians, and artists from all over the world to Bucharest in one classical music festival. I know that classical music is not everyone’s preference but for me it’s like a direct link to my soul. Classical and folk music tends to resonate with me than any other musical genre so Friday’s concert was a real treat for me.

My friend and I saw the St. Petersburg philharmonic orchestra. Some of the pieces played were familiar and the solo violinist, a Ukrainian named Vailery Sokolov, was “jamming” it out like he was a rock star (he definitely looked like it to me). And then there was another piece that I could not keep my eyes open for [as in I was falling asleep], however, a famous Russian composer almost lost his life for it (cause the Soviets were very paranoid). I can’t tell you the names of the songs, but I can tell you life felt much better after that moment.

I know I am one of the few young people who actually care about the beauty, composition, and talent that goes into classical and folk music. Both genres are traditional [aka outdated] and good for the mind [aka boring], but I find a wonderful harmony when I listen to them. I’m not saying modern music (i.e. pop, hip-hop, R&B, indie) is bad, but maybe when you get to a certain point in your life you start to cherish the value of the sound in classical and/or folk music. Your heart vibrates pleasantly with the tune.

As I listened to the orchestra, my back was straight, my eyes were focused, and I could not help but think how wonderful this moment was. I was seated in a forest of intellectuals, witnessing a flock of talent, and breathing in time I will always cherish. A flash of thought crossed my mind as the second piece began to play and it almost made me cry. If I was somewhere else in the world, in Asia or back in America, I would have missed this event. Maybe I would have gone through life not knowing, and thus not caring for the missed opportunity, but it was a sad thought.

For the past year I have been incredibly thankful for the blessings the universe has brought me – it’s like a theme for this chapter in my life. So when I say that missing out on the George Enescu festival would be sad, I mean that… life really is too short to pass up on opportunity. It is the opportunity to be the best, have the greatest, and live without regret.

The one draw back to writing these words about my incredible experience at the George Enescu festival is that you, my amazing reader, will not experience the same feeling. I realize that I am unique to my experiences alone. You will not be able to replicate the same passion for a classical symphony as I do (vibrating heart strings and all), but will stress that you do not allow yourself to miss opportunity. You will never feel passion, love, or life if you just allow yourself the minimum, the easiest route, or the given.

George Enescu may not have been internationally known as Beethoven or Mozart or Tchaikovsky, but his legacy, in my books, will go down as the man who brought me to life’s sweet opportunities.

One thought on “The George Enescu Festival – An incredible experience

Leave a Reply

